The Different Levels of ITIL Certification

The Different Levels of ITIL Certification

The Different Levels of ITIL Certification

ITIL became the de facto standard in its service management, which helps organizations in various industries offer service with high- quality. You might be already on your certification journey and researching IT industry services. Before getting ITIL certification, it is essential to learn the basic concepts and terms and the ITIL process to understand the core components of the exam.

What is ITIL?

ITIL stands for information technology infrastructure library. It gives best practices for delivering IT services, standardizes the selection, planning, delivery, and support of IT services to maximum effort, and maintains predictable service levels.

ITIL Certification Program Overview

Axelos got ownership of ITIL in July 2013. The ITIL framework and accredits, training, and examination institutes are maintained by it. Several ITIL Accredited Training Organisations (ATOs) are present to give training, and an ITIL certification exam will be conducted at the end of the movement.
ITIL offers five different levels of certification. They are:

  1. Foundation
  2. Practitioner
  3. Intermediate
  4. Expert
  5. Master

Keep in mind that ITIL uses a credit system for the foundation through expert levels, in which each ITIL certification earns credits. Totally 22 credits are required to achieve ITIL certification.

ITIL Foundation Certification

The ITIL Foundation certification is the basis of ITIL and helps to start the process of learning ITIL and getting certified. There are no prerequisites to get ITIL certification, and anyone can attain its exam. Direct or distance learning options can prepare this foundation certification. It can be prepared by self-study, and there is no need to complete a training course. The exam carries 40 multiple-choice questions, which should be answered in 60 minutes with a grade of 65%, or 26 correct answers are needed to pass the exam.

ITIL Practitioner

The ITIL Practitioner certification is one of the new entry levels to the ITIL certification scheme. This exam came into existence in February 2016. The exam is based on the practical knowledge of ITIL Processes and how those principles are implemented in the real world. The person who got this certification can explain how to use the ITIL framework to run the business objectives and focuses on organizational change management communications and measurement and metrics. ITIL practitioner is the next step in the ITIL progression after receiving ITIL foundation certification. It gives more knowledge to adapt, adopt, and apply ITIL concepts in an organization. Even though this practitioner certification is not required for upper-level ITIL credentials, getting this certification offers three credits toward ITIL expert certification. The exam carries 40 multiple-choice questions and requires a minimum score of 70%, or 28 correct answers, to pass.

Subscribe For Newsletter

Invest in Your Professional Development - Enroll in a ITIL Course Today!

ITIL Intermediate

The ITIL Intermediate certification is module-based, and each aims at a different aspect of IT service management. The modules are classified as either service lifecycle or service capability. The candidates can meet their career goals by AXELOS, and it will make them achieve the qualification in one category or by selecting the modules. This intermediate exam preparation should be done by attending the training course given by an accredited training organization.

ITIL Expert

It is an advanced certification that deals with ITIL processes and practices across all ITIL disciplines. Having ITIL Expert certification is a prerequisite for the ITIL Master certification. To get qualified for this level, you should obtain at least 17 credits from the foundation, practitioner, and intermediate modules and pass managing across the lifecycle exam, which earns a total of 22 credits.

ITIL Master

This certification demonstrates an ability to apply the ITIL framework in real-world situations. It encompasses all ITIL principles and processes covered in the foundation through Expert certifications. Earning this certification is an indicator that you have reached the highest level of achievement in your field.


There are five different levels of ITIL certification; each has its subcategories of process. All the ITIL processes work together to increase the efficiency and reliability of services and ensure continual career improvement.


Q1: What is ITIL certification?

A1: ITIL certification stands for Information Technology Infrastructure Library certification. It is a globally recognized framework that provides guidance on best practices for IT service management.

Q2: How many levels of ITIL certification are there?

A2: There are five levels of ITIL certification: Foundation, Practitioner, Intermediate, Expert, and Master.

Q3: What is the purpose of the ITIL Foundation certification?

A3: The ITIL Foundation certification is designed to provide a basic understanding of ITIL principles and terminology. It is an entry-level certification for individuals who want to start their ITIL journey.

Q4: How can I achieve the ITIL Expert certification?

A4: To achieve the ITIL Expert certification, you need to accumulate a certain number of credits by completing various ITIL Intermediate modules. Once you have enough credits, you can apply for the Expert certification.

Q5: What is the difference between ITIL Expert and ITIL Master certification?

A5: The ITIL Expert certification demonstrates a deep understanding of ITIL concepts and requires the completion of Intermediate and Managing Across the Lifecycle (MALC) modules. ITIL Master certification, on the other hand, is the highest level and requires practical application of ITIL knowledge in real-world scenarios, including a written submission and interview.



Let's talk

    More To Explore

    Subscribe For Newsletter

    Don't miss out - subscribe to our blog newsletter today!