An Overview of the CISA Examination Process

An Overview of the CISA Examination Process

An Overview of the CISA Examination Process

If you want to become an auditor, you can consider the certified information system auditor (CISA). ISACA (Information systems audit and control association), in the audit, control, and security of information systems, issues a well-recognized information certificate called CISA certification.
This certification shows that an individual has competencies in IT security, It Audit, Risk management, and governance and ensures that they can take measures and assess. IT controls with a more robust set of auditing skills. The United States of Defense formally approves the CISA certification of the ISACA.

An Overview of the CISA Examination Process

An individual to receive CISA certification, the following requirements should be fulfilled:
  1. The person should have desired work experience of at least 4000 hours and working in information security or any security department of IT firms.
  2. Those who do not have the above-required experience should work one year in auditing, security, or control and an experience in it for the same duration.
  3. The applicants willing to work as a trainer must have an experience as an IT auditor, controller, and security professional.

Steps to Become a CISA-Certified Professional

  1. Register for the CISA exam by paying online registration fees if you have a strong knack for IT security.
  2. After clearing the exam. You have to apply to avail of the CISA certification.
  3. The application should be submitted within a maximum of five years duration from the date of the qualifying exam.
  4. You must follow professional education to become proficient in auditing, controlling and IT security.

CISA Exam format

The CISA exam carries about 150 MCQ questions from four practice areas. The duration of the exam lasts for four hours. For the CISA exam, the score is plotted on a scale of 200 to 800 points. To pass the exam, you have to get above 450 points.
Subscribe For Newsletter

Ready to ace your CISA exam? Subscribe now for the best resources and tips.

CISA Experience Verification Form

You have to complete the required work experience and after this, you have to apply for the CISA experience verification form. According to ISACA, it is necessary to be worked under a superior, or manager, who will be verifying your work experience on the CISA experience verification form.

CISA Exam Syllabus

To get CISA certification, there are five domains to cover the exam syllabus. You should be thorough on these topics before appearing for the exam. All these five domains are how the exam is broken down into parts based on the subject matter, each section covers. The five domains are as follows:
  1. Auditing information systems (21%)
  2. Governance and management of IT (16%)
  3. Acquisition, development, and implementation (18%)
  4. Operations, maintenance, and support of information systems (20%)
  5. Protection and information assets (25%)
Domains 4 and 5, are covering half of the syllabus, and you should know about these two areas well and achieve a decent score in the other domains. A person the relevant work experience can get their CISA certification as soon as they take and pass the exam. It will need only the time to take as long as it takes you to prepare for the exam and get scheduled to test it.


By now, you must gather information about how to get CISA certification. There is a demand for CISA in India and overseas as well. All companies require these certified professionals for the smooth and error-free running of their businesses.


Q1: What are the eligibility requirements for the CISA examination?

A1: To be eligible for the CISA examination, you must have a minimum of five years of professional work experience in information systems control, auditing, or security. Alternatively, you can substitute a maximum of three years of work experience with certain educational qualifications or other certifications.

Q2: How can I register for the CISA examination?

A2: You can register for the CISA examination through the ISACA website. Create an account, complete the application form, pay the exam fee, and select a testing location and date.

Q3: What is the format of the CISA examination?

A3: The CISA examination consists of 150 multiple-choice questions that cover various domains related to information systems auditing and control. You have four hours to complete the exam. It is a computer-based test.

Q4: How is the CISA examination scored?

A4: The CISA exam is scored on a scale of 200 to 800 points. A score of 450 or higher is considered passing. Your raw score is converted to a scaled score based on the difficulty of the questions. You will receive your score immediately upon completing the exam.

Q5: What is the CISA certification renewal process?

A5: To maintain your CISA certification, you must earn at least 20 Continuing Professional Education (CPE) hours annually and submit an annual maintenance fee. Additionally, you are required to pass the CISA CPE exam every three years. This ensures that you stay up-to-date with the latest developments in the field of information systems auditing and control.



Let's talk

    More To Explore

    Subscribe For Newsletter

    Don't miss out - subscribe to our blog newsletter today!