From Novice to AWS Pro: Your Path to Becoming a Certified Cloud Architect

From Novice to AWS Pro: Your Path to Becoming a Certified Cloud Architect
From Novice to AWS Pro: Your Path to Becoming a Certified Cloud Architect

From Novice to AWS Pro: Your Path to Becoming a Certified Cloud Architect


In the dynamic world of cloud computing, Amazon Web Services (AWS) stands at the forefront, providing businesses with scalable and innovative cloud solutions. For those looking to embark on a journey toward AWS certification, becoming an AWS Certified Cloud Architect is a prestigious goal. In this article, we will guide you through the steps to transform from a novice into a seasoned AWS Pro, ultimately achieving the coveted title of Certified Cloud Architect.

The Role of an AWS Certified Cloud Architect

Before delving into the path to certification, let’s clarify the responsibilities of an AWS Certified Cloud Architect. These professionals are tasked with designing scalable, highly available, and fault-tolerant systems on AWS. They play a pivotal role in helping organizations leverage the full potential of the cloud to meet their business objectives.

The Journey Begins: Foundational Knowledge

1. Understanding AWS Fundamentals

   Start your journey by gaining a solid grasp of AWS basics. Familiarize yourself with core services such as Amazon EC2, S3, and RDS. AWS offers a plethora of free resources, including whitepapers and documentation, to kickstart your learning.

2. AWS Certified Cloud Practitioner

   The first milestone is achieving the AWS Certified Cloud Practitioner certification. This entry-level certification provides you with a foundational understanding of AWS services, cloud concepts, and basic architectural best practices. It’s an excellent starting point for beginners.

The Path to Proficiency: Associate Level

3. Choose Your Track: Solutions Architect, Developer, or SysOps Administrator

   AWS offers three different associate-level certifications, allowing you to specialize based on your career goals. The AWS Certified Solutions Architect – Associate, AWS Certified Developer – Associate, and AWS Certified SysOps Administrator – Associate certifications each focus on different aspects of AWS.

4. In-Depth Study and Hands-On Practice**

   Dive deeper into your chosen track. Study AWS services specific to your certification path. Set up your AWS account and engage in hands-on labs and projects. Practical experience is invaluable.

5. Exam Preparation

   Invest in study materials, such as AWS training courses, practice exams, and books. Create a structured study plan and allocate sufficient time to cover all exam objectives.

Mastery Awaits: Professional Level

6. AWS Certified Solutions Architect – Professional

   Once you’ve obtained your associate-level certification and gained practical experience, it’s time to tackle the AWS Certified Solutions Architect – Professional certification. This challenging exam validates your ability to design complex AWS solutions.

The Apex: AWS Certified DevOps Engineer and Beyond

7. AWS Certified DevOps Engineer – Professional

   If your career path aligns with DevOps practices, consider pursuing the AWS Certified DevOps Engineer – Professional certification. It emphasizes automation, continuous integration, and continuous delivery on AWS.

Continuous Learning: Stay Updated

8. Stay Informed About AWS Innovations

   Cloud technology evolves rapidly. To maintain your AWS certifications, stay informed about the latest AWS services and best practices. AWS offers recertification options to keep your knowledge up-to-date.


Becoming an AWS Certified Cloud Architect is a testament to your expertise in designing robust cloud solutions on AWS. This journey from a novice to a certified pro requires dedication, continuous learning, and practical experience. With the right resources, determination, and a clear roadmap, you can transform yourself into an AWS Pro and excel in the world of cloud architecture.


1. What is the passing score for AWS certification exams?

   The passing score for AWS certification exams typically ranges from 65% to 75%. Each exam has its specific passing score, so check the AWS website for precise details.

2. How long does it take to prepare for AWS certification exams?

   Preparation time varies depending on your prior experience and the certification level. It can range from a few weeks to several months of dedicated study and hands-on practice.

3. Can I take AWS certification exams online?

   Yes, AWS offers online proctored exams, allowing you to take certification exams from the comfort of your own home or office.

4. Are there any prerequisites for AWS certification exams?

   Prerequisites vary depending on the certification. For associate-level certifications, typically no prerequisites are required. However, professional-level certifications often require prior associate-level certification.

5. Do AWS certifications expire?

   AWS certifications are valid for three years. To maintain your certification, you can either retake the current exam or take a higher-level exam.



Let's talk

    More To Explore

    Subscribe For Newsletter

    Don't miss out - subscribe to our blog newsletter today!