Exploring Different Types Of Professional Scrum Master Certifications

Exploring Different Types Of Professional Scrum Master Certifications

Exploring Different Types Of Professional Scrum Master Certifications

Table Of Content

  1. Professional Scrum Master
  2. Certified Scrum Developer
  3. Professional Scrum Product Owner
  4. SAFe Scrum Master (SSM)
  5. Certified Scrum Professional
  6. Certified Scrum Master
  7. Certified Scrum Product Owner

In a Scrum Master Trends Report 2019, it was noticed that organizations were more inclined to pay higher salaries to professionals with some form of agile training or certification. In fact, nearly 81% of companies were using agile or some type of agile practices. 

With such growing demand, it only makes sense to see what kinds of Scrum certifications are out there for IT professionals.

Professional Scrum Master

The Professional Scrum Master training course gives IT professionals a complete understanding of Scrum’s framework and how to best apply it within a Scrum team. In addition, it will instill leadership skills while helping professionals tackle behavioral transformations.

The course is developed keeping in mind those who have experience with risk identification, assessment, and evaluation. In ZOC Technology’s Professional Scrum Master training course, you will delve into topics like

  • Scrum theory and principle
  • The Scrum Framework
  • Scrum Roles – Product Owner, Scrum Master And Development Team
  • The Definition of Done & Acceptance Criteria
  • Running a Scrum project
  • Working with people and teams
  • Scrum in your organization
  • The Role of the Scrum Master

Certified Scrum Developer

This course is designed to help product owners work well in a Scrum environment. Through this training, IT professionals learn the core Scrum and Agile concepts concerning product development. 

Plus, once you get a Certified Scrum Developer certification, you can apply for a Certified Scrum Professional (CSP) and an Advanced Certified Scrum Developer (ACSD), as it is deemed a prerequisite to beginning one’s training.

Professional Scrum Product Owner

A Professional Scrum Product Owner will certify an IT professional’s capability in maximizing a product’s value developed by a development team. The certification will test an IT professional’s understanding of the Product Owner’s Learning Path as prescribed by Scrum.org. It will also increase your capacity to interpret the Scrum Guide.

SAFe Scrum Master (SSM)

For IT professionals that are seeking to become a Scrum Master in an organization where agile, lean or even DevOps is practiced on a large scale, getting SAFe Scrum Master (SSM) certification could prove to be extremely beneficial. 

This certification is conducted by Scaled Agile, the organization that administers Scaled Agile Framework (SAFe). The course not only acquaints IT professionals with Scrum but also helps them learn the tools needed to work with fully remote-based teams.

Certified Scrum Professional

On the product development front, a Certified Scrum Professional certification is the highest-level certification offered by the Scrum Alliance. 

To begin the journey of becoming a certified Scrum professional, it is preferred that you become a Certified Scrum Developer (CSD) first. The course is quite unique and specific to developers, helping them become proficient in improving Scrum and Agile principles that are put in place within their teams.

Certified Scrum Master

The Certified Scrum Master is recommended for any IT professional that is currently aspiring to be a Scrum team leader across industries. It’s meant for anybody expected to work with cross-functional teams and solve complex problems.

A CSM training gives IT professionals the confidence to deploy the Scrum methodology in their regular business practices successfully. By becoming a Certified Scrum Master, IT professionals will be identified as a select few Scrum Alliance members. Seen as experts, Scrum Alliance members are masters in coaching project teams to success. So if you were to take ZOC Technology’s Certified Scrum Master course, you would learn topics like

  • Agile and Scrum Overview
  • The three roles in Scrum
  • Scrum Ceremonies
  • Scrum Artefacts
  • Sprint Execution
  • Daily Scrum and Sprint Retrospective
  • Definition of Done (DoD) and Acceptance Criteria
  • Definition of Ready
  • Release Planning
  • Sprint Burn-down Chart
  • Release Burn-Up Chart
  • Product Planning
  • Agile Estimation

Certified Scrum Product Owner

Offered by Scrum Alliance, the Certified Scrum Product Owner certification validates and certifies an IT professional’s training and knowledge to become a product owner. 

Professionals will learn the basics of Scrum while receiving product-specific training, like creating a product vision. The course is highly recommended for product owners, project managers, business analysts and data analysts.

In today’s business environment learning concepts of Scrum can be beneficial to any number of professionals. So if you are looking at any Scrum certification, check out courses offered by ZOC Technology. With a 98% passing assurance, chatting with an expert will guide you in choosing the right Scrum course. Click here to get started right away.


Q1. What are the different types of Professional Scrum Master certifications available? 

A1:There are two main types of Professional Scrum Master certifications: PSM I (Professional Scrum Master I) and PSM II (Professional Scrum Master II).

Q2. What is the difference between PSM I and PSM II certifications? 

A2: PSM I is designed for individuals who have a basic understanding of Scrum principles, while PSM II is intended for those with a deeper knowledge and experience in applying Scrum practices in complex situations.

Q3. How can I prepare for the PSM I certification exam? 

A3: To prepare for the PSM I certification exam, you should study the Scrum Guide, practice with Scrum open assessments, and consider taking a Scrum.org Professional Scrum Master course.

Q4. What are the prerequisites for taking the PSM II certification exam? 

A4: To be eligible for the PSM II certification exam, you must hold the PSM I certification and have substantial experience in applying Scrum practices in real-world situations.

Q5. Are the Professional Scrum Master certifications recognized globally? 

A5: Yes, Scrum.org’s Professional Scrum Master certifications are recognized and respected worldwide in the field of Scrum and Agile project management. 



Let's talk

    More To Explore

    Subscribe For Newsletter

    Don't miss out - subscribe to our blog newsletter today!