Software Testing / ISTQB

Validate your Testing skills & Get Ahead

Software testing has become an amazing career option in this world of technology. And that is why several people are making this their profession by improving their skills. ISTQB stands for internationally accepted software testing certification. This is an online exam which can be taken by anyone from IT or from a non-IT field.


ISTQB exam is categorized into 3 parts, foundation level certification, advance level certification and expert level certification. It has the three streams of clusters as Core, Agile, Specialist. ISTQB streams focus on:

  • Core – these modules correspond to the “historical” ISTQB certifications and so they:
    • Cover software testing topic in a breadth-first, broad, horizontal way,
    • Are valid for any technology/ methodology/ application domain
    • Allow for a common understanding
  • Agile – these modules address testing practices specifically for the Agile SDLC
  • Specialist – these modules are new in the ISTQB product portfolio and address specific topics in a vertical way:
    • They can address specific quality characteristics (e.g.: Usability; Security; Performance; etc.)
    • They can address technologies that involve specific test approaches (e.g.: model based testing; mobile testing; etc.)
    • They can also be related to specific test activities (e.g.: test automation; test metrics management; etc.)

Foundation Level

The Foundation Level exam tests for knowledge, not skill. It provides information about the certificate holder’s level of familiarity with the most common concepts of software testing and the associated terminology.

Exam Details

  • 40 multiple-choice questions
  • A scoring of 1 point for each correct answer
  • A pass mark of 65% (26 or more points)
  • A duration of 60 minutes (or 75 minutes for candidates taking exams that are not in their native or local language)


  • No prerequisites for Foundation level exam
  • For Advance level candidate need to be Foundation certified and minimum 24 months experience in testing domain

Exam Content

  • Fundamentals of Testing
  • Testing throughout the testing life cycle
  • Static techniques
  • Test design techniques
  • Test management
  • Tool Support for testing

Advanced Level

The Foundation Level exam is a stepping stone towards the Advanced Level, which goes in-depth and is much more practice-oriented, wherefore it also requires 24 months experience as a software tester. Foundation Level: Knowledge. Advanced Level: Skill.

Exam Details

  • 40 multiple-choice questions
  • A scoring of 1 point for each correct answer


Exam Content

  • Fundamentals of Agile software development
  • The features of Agile development
  • Testing in traditional and Agile projects
  • Testing in Agile projects
  • Roles and skills of a tester in Agile projects
  • Agile testing techniques and methods
  • Assess product quality risks within an Agile project
  • Estimate testing effort in Agile based on iteration content and quality risks
  • Tools and Techniques in Agile projects

Expert Level

The Expert level extends the knowledge and experience gained at the advanced level by providing hands-on certification for many exam subjects. At the professional level, ISTQB provides a career path for testers with clearly defined business results.

Exam Details

  • The Exam is done in two parts
  • Multiple Choice Questions
  • Essay Question Components
  • A pass mark of 65% is required
  • A duration of 135 minutes (34% minutes extension for candidates taking exams in their nonnative language)


  • Must be certified in foundation and Advance level (in desired expert module)
  • Minimum 5 years hands on experience in testing
  • At least 2 years of Industry experience on specific module

Exam Content

There is a multi-module structure at expert level. In order to ensure a constant development of skills and expertise, the subjects are usually derived from ISTQB Advanced Level syllables but are not limited to them.

Expert level has two major modules Improving the Testing Process and Test Management.


  • Foundation Level and Advance level Certifications and Specialist certifications has lifelong validity
  • Expert level are valid for 5 years and candidates are requested to retake or gain 200 CEC (Certification Extension Credit) points to maintain the certification.